​4 March 2011

South Wales Police Inspector Geraint Lloyd Evans was yesterday charged with:

1) Conspiring with others to incite engagement in unlawful sexual activity with a child under 13;
2) Possession of section 1 ammunition;
3) Three offences of making indecent images of children;
4) Possession of four child abuse images;
5) Possession of extreme pornography.
Llanelli Magistrates Court decided yesterday that Inspector Evans will be held on remand and will appear at Swansea Crown Court on 11 March, along wih three members of the public who have been charged with offences related to indecent images of children.

The Independent Police Complaints Commission is managing an investigation by South Wales Police Public Protection Unit into allegations that 47-year-old Inspector Evans was in possession of indecent images of children.
A separate SWP criminal investigation in connection with this case has led to the arrest of four members of the public. Three have been charged and are being held on remand.

IPCC Commissioner for Wales Tom Davies said: "I am satisfied that this is being thoroughly investigated. It would be inappropriate to comment further now that the judicial process has started."

- ENDS -

Notes for editors

Please contact the South Wales Police press office for details relating to the three members of the public charged yesterday.
Follow the IPCC on Twitter for the latest information regarding investigations and reports: http://twitter.com/IPCCNews
The IPCC has overall responsibility for the police complaints system. Since April 2006 it has taken on responsibility for similar, serious complaints against HM Revenue and Customs and the Serious Organised Crime Agency in England and Wales. The IPCC’s jurisdiction was extended in 2008 to cover UK Border Agency staff exercising police-like powers.
The IPCC has the task of increasing public confidence in the complaint systems and aims to make investigations more open, timely, proportionate and fair.
The IPCC is run by a Chair, 10 Operational Commissioners (including two Deputy Chairs) and two non-Executive Commissioners.